iPhone and iPad have 3 type of reset settings. These reset settings option perform different functions. You must know the exact difference between these reset options. You could loose data if you perform wrong option. There are many other reset options as well such as you can reset keyboard layout, home screen layout can also be reset along with location and privacy.
The 3 most important reset settings on iPhone/iPad are:
- Reset All Settings
- Erase All Contents and Settings
- Reset Network Settings
Do you know what these options exactly do when clicked? Many of you don’t. I have already told you about what does reset network settings performs. Erase all Contents and settings will delete all you data and settings. It will turn your iPhone/iPad to factory default. If you have taken backup in your computer then you can restore backup on iPhone/iPad to get back all music, photos, videos and documents on your iOS device.
Let’s see what does “Reset All Settings” do on your iPhone/iPad. Reset all settings won’t delete any data such as photos, videos, documents or music files. When you choose to perform reset all settings on iPhone then it will simply reset few settings that I am going to mention below:
- The Network Settings
- The Keyboard Dictionary
- The Home Screen Layout
- Location Settings
- Privacy Settings
- Apple Pay Cards
These settings are reset to their default. So if any of these settings is causing you trouble then you can perform reset all settings option on iPhone/iPad. You can go to Settings >> General >> Reset >> Reset All Settings.
The network settings on iPhone includes many things such as cellular network settings, Wi-Fi settings including VPN settings, hotspot settings, Bluetooth settings etc.. It will remove all saved Wi-Fi connections and their passwords. It will also remove paired bluetooth devices. Reset all settings performs all the works of reset network settings of iPhone as well. You can watch the below video to make more sense of reset all settings on iPhone: