How to Disable Offload Unused Apps on iPhone 2019

Offload unused apps is feature given on iPhone/iPad. You can enable/disable “Offload Unused Apps” on your phone depending upon your need. We keep installing so many apps from time to time which are required at that moment. We continue to use those apps and games over a period of time. But at one point to time, we rarely use them. We get engaged with other more useful apps from app store. Those apps remain on our iPhone/iPad. We don’t delete them. Whether it’s me or you, we don’t count number of days of not using those apps. “Offload unused apps” feature does that for us.

Offload Unused apps knows about all apps and number of days of not using them. If it’s enabled then it will remove those apps for the time being to increase your iPhone/iPad storage. You can reinstall the app whenever you want it. One of the main point of this feature is that it keeps all the settings, data and documents of the app being deleted. If you manually remove apps then it will delete everything. However Offload Unused Apps feature will keep user data on iPhone/iPad even after removing the app.

offload unused app

2 Ways to Disable/Enable Offload Unused Apps on iPhone/iPad:

Follow the below step by step instruction to disable/enable offload unused apps on iPhone 6, iPhone 7, iPhone 8, iPhone X, iPhone 5, iPhone XR, iPhone 6S, iPhone XS and other models having iOS 11 or higher.

1. Using iTunes and App Store option

  • Open “Settings” on your iPhone/iPad.
  • Scroll down and tap on “iTunes and App Store” option.
  • You will see “Offload Unused Apps” option at the bottom.
  • You can enable/disable it from there. If it’s showing “Green” colour then it’s enabled. If it’s grey then disabled.
  • If you don’t want to remove any apps or your iPhone keeps deleting apps without your consent then disable the offload unused apps feature.
  • If you want to save storage on iPhone/iPad then enable it and let the feature do the rest. Whenever deleted app is required then you can reinstall it and data will still be there.

2. Using iPhone Storage option

  • Open “Settings” on your iPhone/iPad.
  • Tap on “General” option.
  • Tap on “iPhone Storage” option.
  • You will see the option for “Offload Unused Apps”. Enable/Disable will be also be written in front of it. It will also show you the total MB of space that you can save by enabling the feature.
  • Simply tap enable/disable to whatever you want.

How to Offload a Single Unused App on iPhone/iPad?

Many people don’t want all apps to remove from their cell phone. In such case you have the option to offload a single app as well. It will save all your data and documents and remove the app to save storage space.

Suppose you don’t want to use Youtube for upcoming days and you want to have more storage space on iPhone/iPad for that period. Then you can use below step by step instructions to offload single apps from iPhone/iPad.

  • Go to “Settings” of iPhone/iPad.
  • Tap on “general” option.
  • Tap on “iPhone/iPad Storage”.
  • Scroll down and find “Youtube” from the list of apps that you see or choose whatever app that you want to remove.
  • Tap on that particular app.
  • You will see “Offload App” option in the middle.
  • Tap on it and let it do the rest for you.
  • You can reinstall whenever you want and you will get your previous data and documents of the app back on.

Final Conclusion: These are the best 2 ways to Enable/Disable Offload Unused Apps feature on iPhone/iPad having iOS 11/ iOS 12 or higher version. It’s a great feature to save some space on your phone. Use it wisely.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.